ISCA - International Speech
Communication Association

ISCApad Archive  »  2023  »  ISCApad #301  »  ISCA News  »  2023 ISCA FELLOWS

ISCApad #301

Thursday, July 06, 2023 by Chris Wellekens


2023 ISCA FELLOWS Announced:


Is it is common practice since several years, the ISCA Fellows Selection Committee has worked over the last months to seek out nominations and endorsements for this year’s ISCA Fellows selection. The ISCA Fellows Selection Committee maintains a rigorous process of collecting and evaluating all nominations (more details are found on the ISCA webpage at: After extensive evaluations and reviews, the following eight distinguished researchers will be elevated to the status of ISCA Fellow for 2023.  Their citations as well as affiliations are highlighted below. Please join us in congratulating these well deserving colleagues for their research contributions to the field of speech communication and technology!  All will be recognized at INTERSPEECH 2023 in Dublin, Ireland, in August.



  • Prof. Gerard Bailly (GIPSA-Lab, CNRS & Grenoble Alps Univ., France) For contributions to multimodal speech generation and bridging the gaps between speech research and social robotics


  • Prof. Mark Hasegawa-Johnson (University of Illinois, USA) For contributions to knowledge-constrained signal generation”  


  • Prof. Kate Knill (University of Cambridge, UK) “For technical contributions in multi-language/accent, low-resource speech processing and long-standing service to the speech community                         



  • Prof. Hanseok Ko (Korea University, Korea) For sustained innovation in Korean and English spoken language technologies


  • Prof. Kikuo Maekawa (National Institute for Japanese Language and Linguistics, Japan) For contributions to the development of language resources for the study of Japanese as a spoken language


  • Prof. Elmar Nöth (Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany) For innovative and extensive contributions to the analysis of pathological speech signals


  • Prof. Alexandros Potamianos (Amazon Alexa and University of Southern California, USA) For contributions to human-centered speech and multimodal signal analysis and conversational technologies


  • Prof. Shinji Watenabe (Carnegie Mellon University, USA) For wide ranging, fundamental contributions to research and leadership in speech recognition technologies




Phil Green (ISCA Fellows Board Member)

Sebastian Möller (ISCA President)


Back  Top

 Organisation  Events   Membership   Help 
 > Board  > Interspeech  > Join - renew  > Sitemap
 > Legal documents  > Workshops  > Membership directory  > Contact
 > Logos      > FAQ
       > Privacy policy

© Copyright 2024 - ISCA International Speech Communication Association - All right reserved.

Powered by ISCA